top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureabdul wahid

Interview

By Abdul Wahid Saleem

Amidst the clutter of cutleries behind the counter in a Tim Horton’s, sipping a coffee while sporting a Ralph Lauren t-shirt with a whiff of Armani Eau de Cedre; Vishnu Venugopal reminisces the time when he came to Canada. Currently, he is pursuing his Graduate Certificate program in Project Management from Conestoga College. This is his story of how he started with financial difficulties while living in India and how he has come out of it after coming to Canada.

Abdul: Hello Vishnu.

Vishnu: Hello there.

A: Let us start with what you were doing in India before you came to Canada?

V: Back in India, I did my schooling there and after that I went to University and completed my Bachelors in Computer Applications degree. After graduating I was searching for jobs but unfortunately couldn't find any.

A: How did you come to Canada then?

V: One of my friends told me about Canada and how things work there. He asked me to pursue higher studies from there to get a better future. So, I came to Canada.

A: Since you couldn't find a job after your graduation, how did you manage the expenditure for coming here?

V: Well, the fees are high when compared to India. So, I applied for education loans from banks but none of them were accepted. I ended up asking financial support from my friends and family and they helped me a lot in raising funds. The crowdsourced money helped to get me here now. I am grateful for them.

A: So, your education expenses were taken care of by your friends and family, but what about the living expenses that you have here?

V: When I came here my friend referred me to a job in a bakery, I worked there for a few months before moving to a better job as a cook in a restaurant. I liked cooking hence I loved the new job. My pay as a cook was very good and I was able to manage my expenses like rent, food, etc. from the salary while also saving money for fees.

A: You have come a long way after the first job and you don't have to save for fees anymore. What do you do with the extra money? Do you save it?

V: I save some money for personal use whereas I send some back to my home to repay the debts.

A: One last curious question. Why a profession in cooking after graduating in Computer Applications?

V: Oh. That’s because I am still a student, so I can only do part time jobs whereas in computer applications there are only full-time jobs available. Once I complete my studies, I will look for a full-time job as a Computer Technician. Also, I am passionate about cooking; so being a cook is not a bad job either.


He drinks his last sip of coffee as he finishes the last sentence, subtly signalling that the interview has come to an end.


People come to Canada with lots of hopes and desires. This country is truly a land of opportunities for those who have the willpower and a good heart.


As a reader, will you risk everything to move to a new place and start anew? Comment your interesting stories below.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Liners

He took a gulp of water from his disposable water bottle when he felt sad while watching a video of a turtle stuck in a six pack ring. The turkey was still hot, but his body had turned cold. The Chief

The Day - A Poem

When my mother dies, Will I be ready to accept it? It will be the day, I won't stop my expressions from expressing. It will be the day, when I will be crying for the first time, And my mother will not

The Mountain - A Short Story

Majestic, beautiful, limitless were some of the synonyms for the word mountain in Gary's dictionary. When he was a young boy, his dad used to say, ‘always look up and never look down’. As the young Ga

bottom of page