top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureabdul wahid

The Day - A Poem

When my mother dies,

Will I be ready to accept it?


It will be the day,

I won't stop my expressions from expressing.


It will be the day, when

I will be crying for the first time,

And my mother will not be there to calm me.


It will be the day,

I will realise a familiar face vanish forever,

A face I have seen throughout my life.


It will be the day,

My taste buds will know

Even the best chef can't cook like her.


It will be the day,

I have to find my stuff

And can’t call out to her to help me.


It will be the day,

I will be truly alone for the first time.


It will be the day,

I will miss her smell when,

I used to lie on her lap.


It will be the day,

I will feel the void that my mother left,

No one ever can fill.


To my mother,

I will never be ready,

For no one ever has.


It will be the day.


-Abdul Wahid Saleem



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Liners

He took a gulp of water from his disposable water bottle when he felt sad while watching a video of a turtle stuck in a six pack ring. The turkey was still hot, but his body had turned cold. The Chief

The Mountain - A Short Story

Majestic, beautiful, limitless were some of the synonyms for the word mountain in Gary's dictionary. When he was a young boy, his dad used to say, ‘always look up and never look down’. As the young Ga

Mind

I am writing an article with no supposed context but needs to revolve around the word mind. I was reading an article related to the word mind to stir up my head so that I can vomit something on the em

bottom of page